Secret Hedge Cures Cancer

The Daily Mail are clearly fond of their giant hedge stories.

Apparently this one is the biggest yew hedge  in Britain (though not the tallest*, as that’s the Cirencester one I already posted about.)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-469258/Yewmongous–giant-hedge-yields-600-fund.html

I do like the fact that its location is a “closely guarded secret”. I think I might know where it is, but I suppose it would be inappropriate to speculate.

(For any pedants offended my tabloid-style headline, I should concede that yew clippings don”t “cure cancer”, they are just used in the manufacture of drugs that help to fight cancer.)

 

*Edit – I originally described this as the tallest hedge in Britain, which is wrong, because the Meikleour hedge (which is beech) is much higher.

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Hedges, Notable Hedges

Leave a Reply

