Rupert Brooke’s song of the hedge

I like this poem, but I do think the poetry police should be called regarding his use of the word “frore.” Apparently it means “frozen” in Old English, but seriously, are we expected to know that?

Song by Rupert Brooke, 1912

All suddenly the wind comes soft,
And Spring is here again;
And the hawthorn quickens with buds of green,
And my heart with buds of pain.

My heart all Winter lay so numb,
The earth so dead and frore,
That I never thought the Spring would come,
Or my heart wake any more.

But Winter’s broken and earth has woken,
And the small birds cry again;
And the hawthorn hedge puts forth its buds,
And my heart puts forth its pain.


5 Comments

Filed under Historical Hedges, Literary Hedges

5 responses to “Rupert Brooke’s song of the hedge

  1. Had the earth been frozen his heart might have been snoozin’

  2. I think I like that better. Someone should write to the Rupert Brooke estate…

  3. Long live Old English, I say! Those Old Englishmen really knew how to invent language. The word ‘frore’ is most evocative – after all, what do we say when we step out of doors into the snow and feel the sting of the air for the first time? “Frooore it’s cold!”

  4. That is a pretty persuasive argument, maybe I should give Rupert the benefit of the doubt.

  5. It is a lovely poem though – frore or not!

Leave a Reply

